The beginning

Everything has got to start somewhere and also this adventure. A good start I think, is to introduce myself and the idea with this blog.
My name is Lina and I live between Hjo and Skövde in a sweet little cottage in the countryside. I am an archaeologist, but I am studding right now to be a system analyst. Mainly because of the tremendous lack of good archaeological work. Archaeology will always be my passion and when you ask what I do for a living my first impulse is always to say that I am an archaeologist. But computer scientists are also a very good fit for me. I feel like a fish in water.
My house is not big, around 90 sqm. The oldest parts are from the mid-1800s and has been built and rebuilt at various times. This has given the house a very charming appearance both inside and out. The ceiling height varies from 185 to 250 cm, walls don not join at right angles, and the door between the kitchen and living room measuring 170 x 65 cm. Since everything that is going in to the living room and the bathroom has to pass through this door, it has put restrictions on what washing machine to buy, if the sofa can go into and so on.Which is a big part of the charm of living in an older house.
The cottage has an approximately 3000-square-meter garden. Quite enough for my needs and the work I want to put in to it.Sometimes I pray that the grass would turn in to pebbles, more specifically on the occasions when all the grass needs to be cut. But mostly, I am quite fond of my garden. I really love to work in the garden. Though I am a crafts person in the heart and soul. I like to use my hands and is creative. I work with wood and paper, knitting, sewing and painting. Wherever my creative side have an outlet. But now I have got off-topic. The garden is divided into two parts. The two parts are split by a small road that were used to get out on the road leading into the village. The road has not been used in a couple of years apart from when it comes so many people that they do not have room to park in the small parking lot that is in front of the house. This has made the road more or less over grown, but you can see traces of it and it will forever divide the garden in the inner and the outer part. When we bought the place a few years ago, the garden was hugely neglected. It was late in August and no one had cut the grass during the summer. The trees had not been pruned for several years and the cherry trees had completely taken over the slope. The flowerbeds were grown over by weeds and bushes had grown in all directions. Even now, almost four years later, I haven’t caught up. Cherry trees are still reign as absolute ruler of the slopes and some parts of the garden is overwhelmed by ground elder.
Much of what I’m doing in life and in the house and garden, is influenced by my faith. About ten years ago I found Wicca, and it fitted me like a glove. Since then I have studied, practiced and lived with wicca. And all this is what the blog will be about. It’s about my life. It will follow the seasons so in the summer you can expect to find much about the garden and how to make jam and juice . In winter, it will probably be more crafts emphasized. This will all be mixed up with my thoughts and observations.
I hope this will be a fun experience for both you and for me, I look forward to it.

Published in: on July 29, 2011 at 17:35  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://inthirteenmoons.wordpress.com/2011/07/29/the-beginning/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

